purchase a copy via Bookshop.org

SERIES: The Broken Earth trilogy, Book 1
AUTHOR: N.K. Jemisin
DATE: 2015
PAGES: 468

AWARDS: Hugo Award for Best Novel (2016), Nebula Award Nominee for Best Novel (2015), Locus Award Nominee for Best Fantasy Novel (2016), World Fantasy Award Nominee for Best Novel (2016), Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire Nominee for Traduction (2018) (2019)James Tiptree Jr. Award Nominee for Longlist (2015), The Kitschies Nominee for Red Tentacle (Novel) (2015), Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Fantasy (2015), Dragon Award Nominee for Best Fantasy Novel and Best Apocalyptic Novel (2016)

Publisher’s Description

This is the way the world ends. Again.

Three terrible things happen in a single day. Essun, a woman living an ordinary life in a small town, comes home to find that her husband has brutally murdered their son and kidnapped their daughter. Meanwhile, mighty Sanze — the world-spanning empire whose innovations have been civilization’s bedrock for a thousand years — collapses as most of its citizens are murdered to serve a madman’s vengeance. And worst of all, across the heart of the vast continent known as the Stillness, a great red rift has been torn into the heart of the earth, spewing ash enough to darken the sky for years. Or centuries.

Now Essun must pursue the wreckage of her family through a deadly, dying land. Without sunlight, clean water, or arable land, and with limited stockpiles of supplies, there will be war all across the Stillness: a battle royale of nations not for power or territory, but simply for the basic resources necessary to get through the long dark night. Essun does not care if the world falls apart around her. She’ll break it herself, if she must, to save her daughter.

Inclusion Criteria

A significant character is attracted to people of multiple genders.

Library Notes

Paperback. Purchased new by the library with founder’s funds.